Election Commission announces Karnataka poll dates

324 0

Voting for the Assembly elections in Karnataka will be held on the 12th of May, and the results will be out on the 15th of May, Election Commission announced today. The term of the current 224-member legislative Assembly ends on May 28.

The elections are likely to be a three-way fight between Congress, BJP and JDS. While BJP would look to regain its southern citadel, Congress would expect Chief Minister Siddaramaiah to retain the only big state it is in power, with Kumaraswamy’s party,  according to analysts, likely to play kingmaker.

Karnataka is the only major state where the Congress is in power at present and retaining it is crucial for the party morale ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Leaders from both the Parties (Congress & BJP) have undertaken extensive tours, addressing multiple rallies in the state. As the state readies itself for the big battle, the issue of Lingayat is currently dominating the political discourse in Karnataka. The election it will be a single-phase election.  The overall voting population is 72 per cent. The election 56,6690 polling stations in Karnataka.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *