Opposition gives impeachment motion against CJI

357 0

The Congress and leaders of six Opposition parties today submitted a proposal to Vice President Venkaiah Naidu on moving an impeachment motion against Chief Justice Dipak Misra. Congress’s Ghulam Nabi Azad, who is also the Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, earlier held a meeting with other political parties to give final shape to the proposal on the impeachment motion.

The move comes in the wake of the Supreme Court (SC) judgment of yesterday, which dismissed the demand for an investigation into the death of CBI judge BH Loya.

As many as 64 Parliamentarians (MPs) belonging to seven political parties today signed the notice for impeachment proceedings against the CJI. They include MPs from the Cong, the NCP, CPM, the CPI, the SP, the BSP and the Muslim League.

Senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal said the notice mentions five grounds of misbehaviour for the CJI’s impeachment. Since CJI Dipak Mishra come, questions have been raised about his conduct. It showed in the January 12 press conference of four judges of Supreme Court. One concern of the four judges was memorandum of procedure was being unsettled,” said Sibal at a press conference after the parties submitted the impeachment notice to Naidu .

According to sources, the proposal seeking impeachment motion the Chief Justice of India has signatures of 50 MPs. Vice President Venkaiah Naidu could constitute a committee to look into the issue. The Supreme Court today sought Attorney General KK Venugopal’s assistance on a plea seeking a gag order against the media on the impeachment process supposed to be initiated against Chief Justice.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *