31 offender’s list released, collectively owe Rs 40,000 crore to banks

438 0

A total of 31 individuals accused of fugitive economic offenders are abroad, total value involved in such offences is Rs.100 crore or more.The list of absconders that the external affairs ministry submitted to the Lok Sabha on Wednesday, March 14, includes some public figures and some not-so-known faces. These offenders/wilful defaulters, pursued by the CBI (Central Bureau of Investigation) and ED (Enforcement Directorate) in 15 different cases, collectively owe a massive amount of Rs 40,000 crore to banks and public institutions in India, livemint reported on Friday, March 16.

Among the well known names are Vijay Mallya, who owes Rs 9,000 to a group of banks; prominent jeweller Nirav Modi , his wife Ami Modi, brother Neeshal Modi and uncle Mehul Choksi named in the Rs 12,636 crore scam by Punjab National Bank; former Indian Premier League supremo Lalit Modi, who is accused of siphoning Rs 125 crore from the country’s cricket board, diamond trader Ritesh Jain for illicitly taking Rs 1,500 crore out of the country and many others.

According to a meticulous data provided by Trans Union Cibil on the basis of suit-filed accounts for the wilful defaulters of Rs 25 lakh and above, the Punjab National bank ranks the list with as many as 1,018 wilful defaulters. Followed by Union Bank of India with 779 cases Axis Bank with 732 cases, Central Bank 666 cases, and Canara bank 487 cases. All these 5 banks constitute an amount of Rs 2,900 crore from wilful defaulters, which they have lost. A wilful defaulter is an entity or a person that has not paid the amount in terms of a loan back in spite of the ability to repay it. As many as 400 Indian companies have been identified as wilful defaulters.

The list includes the following names Soumit Jena, Vijaykumar Revabhai Patel, Sunil Ramesh Rupani, Pushpesh Kumar Baid, Surender Singh, Angad Singh, Harsahib Singh, Harleen Kaur, Ashish Jobanputra, Jatin Mehta, Chetan Jayantilal Sandesara, Dipti Chetan Sandesara, Nitin Jayantilal Sandesara, Sabhya Seth, Nilesh Parrekh, Umesh Parekh, Sunny Kalra, Aarti Kalra, Sanjay Kalra, Varsha Kalra, Hemant Gandhi, Ishwarbhai Bhat, M.G. Chandrasakhar, Cheriya Vannarakkal Sudeer, Nausha Kadeejath and Cheriya Veettil Sadique.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *