#KarnatakaElectionResults 2018 LIVE: Congress begs JDS for tie-ups, offers CM’s post to Kumaraswamy

345 0

Karnataka Election Result (222/222)

BJP : 106

Congress : 74

JDS : 41

Others : 02

Bengaluru: Former Karnataka Chief Minister and Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday said the Congress had come to his party’s doorsteps for tie-ups to get power in BBMP (Brihat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike) and during the by-election held for Nanjangud Assembly constituency.

Addressing the media on the sidelines of a ‘conclave of intellectuals’ here, he said Congress had begged JD(S) for its help.

Counting of votes for 222 of the 224 Assembly seats began at 8 am. The current trend shows the absolute majority for BJP in the state assembly election.  Modi’s wave continues in Karnataka as well. Congress’s  Lingaryat card fails in Karnataka. Former CM HD Dewegowda of JDS has maintained the trend by winning  40 seats this time as well in 2013 election. There has seen Get the Live updates here at the2is.com.

Who wins what:

The BJP has won 106 seats, whereas the Congress has  won 73 seats and the JDS has won 41 seats, and 2 seats have been bagged by Others. Minimum 112 seats are requiered in order to form the govt. BJP is still falling short of some seats to form a clear majority.



See the live updates here

  • The Congress candidate Siddharammaiaah is lagging behind in Chamundeshwari and Badami
  •  BJP’s  Shrirammulu leads in Mokalmuru and Badami constituency.
  • JDS’s HD Kumaraswamy is leading for Ram Nagar constituency.
  • BJP’s Somshekhar Reddy leads in Bellari
  • Shiv Kumar  leads in Kanakpur constituency
  • Yeddyurappa leads in Shikarpur  constituency
  • Siddharamaiya’s Son Yatindra leads in Varuna constituency
  • In Chittapura congress leader  Malikarjun Kharge’s daughter Priyanka is loosing.
  • BJP candidate leads in Dharwar

Three-way Contest

The three-way contest will see a fight between the incumbent Siddaramaiah-led Congress govt, the BJP which has projected Yeddyurappa as its CM candidate and the JD(S) which is likely to emerge as the kingmaker should the result end in a hung assembly.

  • Rahul Gandhi vs Amit Shah

    The election is a test for Congress president Rahul Gandhi as this is the first big election for the party under his leadership. He took over reins of the party in December 2017, at a time when the party was at its lowest in its 133-year history, electorally and politically. From helming governments in 19 states 24 years ago, the party today is in power only in four states and one Union Territory — Punjab, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Karnataka and Puducherry.

    The BJP, in comparison, is currently in power in 21 of 29 states. For the party’s chief, Amit Shah, this election is significant as the party tries to make inroads in the South. It has begun preparations for the 2019 General Elections. At a recent party meet, he said no BJP worker will rest unless the party is in power in 26 states, reported The Indian Express.

  • Yeddyurappa begins day with a prayer,Will he become the chief minister? It’s a close fight between the Congress and the BJP.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *